Cutting Fabric at 60 Degrees

A couple of days ago, I mentioned that elder son and I were having a discussion about what some road workers were doing to a footpath. It turns out that they were taking up the old slabs, digging out the soil under the path, filling the hole with stronger footway material and then putting the slabs back down again.

I know that you might have been having sleepless nights over this issue, so now you can rest peaceful!!! (click HERE to view the original blog)

It all brought back many memories for me.

When I started out in the engineering industry, I began by being a draftsman. This was before the age of computers being everywhere, so you had to draw everything on giant drawing boards in special ink. I used to love it when I had to draw footpaths with all the little paving slab layouts. I could just switch off part of my brain and draw lots of little lines making pretty patterns. 

Eventually I progressed to engineering design and my drafting days were over. Then it became a computerised world and all you had to do to get a pretty paving pattern was click a button. No more day-dreaming for me!

That was, until I discovered patchwork and in particular blocks, and designing blocks. I feel like I have traveled full circle. I’m now merrily whiling away my time making pretty patterns again, although now I also work out how to sew them.

The Patchwork Club has a facebook group (click HERE to visit and join) and on it I share photos of quilts that I find interesting. They usually follow a kind of theme each day but can also be totally random. 

A week ago I was looking at green quilts (I was lacking inspiration so green was the theme – it was yellow the day before!) Anyway, one of the group members expressed an interest to sew a particularly pretty green lily quilt.

This kind of request happens quite a lot in the group, and usually I can find the tutorial on the internet somewhere, or knock one up fairly quickly.

However, in this instance the quilt has no tutorial and is a little trickier than normal. The main problem for me is that it involves hexagons. I’m not very keen on hexagons – at all. (One day I might share why).

The problem?

Well, to begin with you need to know how to cut a 60 degree angle. Of course, you could buy a template to do this (click on the picture below to do just this!)

Or…

You could be a geek like me and start calculating using algebra and geometry from school days.  After several sketches and the toddler eating the paper and loosing my pen, I cracked it.

To draw a 60 degree (equilateral triangle) you measure 10 units across, 17.25 units up, and join the dots. This is half a triangle. Then you flip it over and you get a whole one. Job done!

Anyways…

When I have completed the video tutorial I will put it up on the website and link to it.

Since I’ve almost gotten over my hexagon trauma, there may be many more hexagon quilt tutorials on the way. I’ve even seen some that are actually quite pretty. 

Now I’m off to see how the road-workers are getting on with their footpath.

Bye for now

Alison

Leave a Reply

